Councilor Ms. Napolitan called the meeting to order at 7:00 PM and announced that the meeting was being recorded.

#### PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

**PRESENT:** Councilors O. Awad, B. Carroll, B. Frederick, P. Lee, R. Nanni, M. Napolitano and S. Zahner **ALSO PRESENT**: Mayor S. Ford; John Hosa, Esq., Tucker Arensberg Attorneys; Douglas Ford, Street Commissioner

**EXCUSED:** D. Slagle, P.E., Nichols & Slagle Engineering, Inc.

# Mayor Sandra Ford administered the oath of office to newly-elected Councilors Benjimen Frederick and Scott Zahner and re-elected Councilor Roger Nanni

Mayor Ford called for nominations for Council President

Ms. Carroll nominated Maria Napolitano

Mayor Ford called for additional nominations for Council President

No other nominations, Mayor Ford closed nominations for Council President

ROLL CALL

Mr. Awad, yes; Ms. Carroll, yes; Mr. Frederick, yes; Ms. Lee, yes; Mr. Nanni, yes; Mr. Zahner, yes; Ms. Napolitano, yes

Ms. Napolitano was elected by majority vote with no objections

Mayor Ford called for nominations for Council Vice President

Mr. Nanni nominated Mr. Awad for Council Vice President

Mayor Ford called for additional nominations for Council Vice President

No other nominations, Mayor Ford closed nominations for Council Vice President

**ROLL CALL** 

Mr. Awad, yes; Ms. Carroll, yes; Mr. Frederick, yes; Ms. Lee, yes; Mr. Nanni, yes; Mr. Zahner, yes; Ms. Napolitano, yes

Mr. Awad was elected by majority vote with no objections

President Napolitano called for nominations for President Pro Tem

Mr. Nanni nominated Mr. Zahner for President Pro Tem

President Napolitano called for additional nominations for President Pro Tem

No other nominations, Ms. Napolitano closed nominations for Council Vice President

**ROLL CALL** 

Mr. Awad, yes; Ms. Carroll, yes; Mr. Frederick, yes; Ms. Lee, yes; Mr. Nanni, yes; Mr. Zahner, yes; Ms. Napolitano, yes

Mr. Zahner was elected by majority vote with no objections

MOTION BY Mr. Awad to reappoint Jennifer Simek as the Borough Secretary and Treasurer, second by Mr. Zahner

**MOTION CARRIES** 

MOTION BY Mr. Frederick to reappoint Doug Ford as Street Commissioner, second by Ms. Carroll MOTION CARRIES

MOTION BY Mr. Awad to reappoint Tucker Arensberg Attorneys as the Borough Solicitor, second by Mr. Frederick

**MOTION CARRIES** 

MOTION BY Mr. Frederick to reappoint Nichols and Slagle Engineering, Inc., as the Borough Engineer, second by Mr. Awad MOTION CARRIES

MOTION BY Mr. Nanni to reappoint Joesph McGurk to the Edgeworth Water Authority, term ending 2028, second by Mr. Zahner MOTION CARRIES

MOTION BY Mr. Awad to reappoint Douglas Ford to the Leetsdale Municipal Authority, term ending 2028, second by Mr. Frederick MOTION CARRIES

MOTION BY Mr. Zahner to reappoint Thomas James to the Civil Service Commission, term ending 2029, second by Mr. Awad MOTION CARRIES

MOTION BY Mr. Nanni to reappoint Thomas James to the Zoning Hearing Board, term ending 2026, second by Mr. Frederick MOTION CARRIES

MOTION BY Mr. Zahner to reappoint Maria Napolitano to the Planning Commission, term ending 2027, second by Mr. Awad Ms. Napolitano abstained MOTION CARRIES

MOTION BY Ms. Carroll to reappoint Caitlin Gresham to the Parks & Recreation Board, term ending 2025, second by Mr. Awad MOTION CARRIES

## **NEW BUSINESS**

- There is no January Workshop Meeting
- The January Regular Session will be held Thursday, January 11, 2024 at 7:00 PM as scheduled

### **AUDIENCE ADDRESSING COUNCIL**

No comment from the Audience

## **ADJOURNMENT**

MOTION BY Mr. Nanni to adjourn at 7:12 PM, second by Mr. Frederick MOTION CARRIES

Respectfully submitted,

